FOSS for Android

In my previous post I complained about the absence of open source software for Android. Thinking about it, the answer came in a tweet and blogpost from the FSFE on how to free your Android phone…

Immediately I surfed to f-droid.org and installed the repository. Here you can find a lot of free developed software. Instructions are on the site.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “FOSS for Android”

  1. Deon Says:

    Awesome blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any suggestions? Thanks a lot!

    • cabra219 Says:

      As an aspiring writer you just have to have something to write about — the rest is ‘fringe’. For this blog I try to concentrate on just a few subjects I like, think about and do in my spare time. Having some kind of scope gives an identity to your postings. With some great things in mind the writing just follows. Don’t try to make it big on your first steps, it should be Fun after all ! However I must admit that professionally I did a lot of writing as well on heavy research reports and everything between to just half a sheet as a quick advice.

      WordPress IMHO is an excellent platform to use for blogging. Twenty years ago I used the space that came with my ISP account, learned some HTML, picked an editor from the net and started [the link is in one of my earlier posts]. The ‘HTML way’ also worked well. Nowadays however, people might favour short writings in stead of longish texts. Besides, an extensive site costs a lot of time to build and maintain.

      Choice is up to You!

Leave a Reply

